Raincoast Books

What Will You Read Next?

The Beautiful Bureaucrat

A Novel

9781250103758

Picador
Available: 05/10/16
5.51 x 8.18 · 192 pages
9781250103758
CDN $22.99 · pb

Buy the Book
+ Amazon.ca
+ Chapters.Indigo.ca
+ Independent Retailers

printprint

Bookmark and Share

Helen Phillips

In a windowless building in a remote part of town, a newly employed young woman, Josephine, inputs an endless string of numbers into something known only as The Database. As the days inch by and the files stack up, Josephine feels increasingly anxious in her surroundings-the office's scarred pinkish walls take on a lifelike quality, the drone of keyboards echoes eerily down the long halls. When one evening her husband Joseph disappears and doesn't return until the next day, offering no explanation as to his whereabouts, her creeping unease shifts decidedly to dread.

"Equal parts mystery, thriller, and existential inquiry" ( The New Republic ), The Beautiful Bureaucrat is a novel of rare restraint and imagination from a brilliant talent on the rise.

- Named a must-read by the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Bustle, The Huffington Post, Buzzfeed, and HelloGiggles, among others
- A New York Times Book Review 's Editor's Choice and longlisted for the Center for Fiction Flaherty Dunnan First Novel Prize
- For fans of Margaret Atwood, Aimee Bender, and Haruki Murakami

Helen Phillips is the award-winning author of the collections Some Possible Solutions and And Yet They Were Happy . Her work has appeared in Tin House, Electric Literature, and The New York Times . An assistant professor of creative writing at Brooklyn College, she lives in Brooklyn with her husband and children.