Raincoast Books

What Will You Read Next?

Reverie

9781492682660

Sourcebooks
Available: 12/03/19
5.91 x 8.68 · 416 pages
Ages 14-17 years
9781492682660
CDN $25.50 · cl

Buy the Book
+ Amazon.ca
+ Chapters.Indigo.ca
+ Independent Retailers

printprint

Bookmark and Share

Ryan La Sala

A B&N's YA Book Club Pick * Walmart Buzz Pick * Indie Next Pick * Book of the Month Club YA Box
A joyously, riotously queer" (Kirkus) young adult fantasy from debut author Ryan La Sala, Reverie is a wildly imaginative story about dreams becoming reality, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Laini Taylor.
A few weeks ago, Kane Montgomery was in an accident that robbed him of his memory. The only thing he knows for certain is that the police found him half-dead in the river. The world as he knows it feels different-reality seems different. And when strange things start happening around him, Kane isn't sure where to turn.
And then three of his classmates show up, claiming to be his friends and the only people who can tell him what's truly going on. Kane doesn't know what to believe or who he can trust. But as he and the others are dragged into increasingly fantastical dream worlds drawn from imagination, it becomes clear that there is dark magic at work. Nothing in Kane's life is an accident, and only he can keep the world itself from unraveling.
Reverie is an intricate and compelling LGBT young adult book about the secret worlds we hide within ourselves and what happens when they become real.
Praise for Reverie:
"This outstanding debut novel will light readers' imaginations on fire. . . Imaginative, bold, and full of queer representation, this is a must-purchase for YA collections."-School Library Journal *STARRED REVIEW*
"This fantasy offers readers something wonderfully new and engaging. . . a gem of a novel that is as affirming as it is entertaining."-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The story's many LGBTQ characters are prominently represented and powerfully nuanced."-Publishers Weekly
"A darkly imagined, riveting fantasy. . . thrilling."-Shelf Awareness
"Joyously, riotously queer. . . The themes of creating one's own reality and fighting against the rules imposed by the world you're born into will ring powerfully true for many young readers."-Kirkus Reviews
"

Ryan La Sala grew up in Connecticut, but only physically. Mentally, he spent most of his childhood in the worlds of Sailor Moon and Xena: Warrior Princess, which perhaps explains all the twirling. He studied Anthropology and Neuroscience at Northeastern University before becoming a project manager specialized in digital tools. He technically lives in New York City, but has actually transcended material reality and only takes up a human shell for special occasions, like brunch, and to watch anime (which is banned on the astral plane). He is the author of Reverie and Be Dazzled. You can visit him at ryanlasala.com.