Raincoast Books

What Will You Read Next?

A Wrinkle in Time Movie Tie-In Edition


Square Fish
Available: 11/07/17
5.3 x 7.7 · 256 pages
Ages 10-14 years
CDN $11.99 · pb

Buy the Book
+ Amazon.ca
+ Chapters.Indigo.ca
+ Independent Retailers


Bookmark and Share

Madeleine L'Engle

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother, Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

"Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract."

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn't know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L'Engle's unusual book. A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O'Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg's father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.

A Wrinkle in Time is the winner of the 1963 Newbery Medal. It is the first book in The Time Quintet, which consists of A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time .

A Wrinkle in Time is soon to be a movie from Disney, directed by Ava DuVernay, starring Storm Reid, Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon and Mindy Kaling.

Madeleine L'Engle (New York, New York) L'Engle was born in New York City and attended Smith College. She has written more than 60 books, the most famous of which is A Wrinkle in Time (1962). The novel won the John Newbery Award in 1963, and L'Engle continued the story of the Murry family of A Wrinkle in Time with seven other novels. She also wrote another famous series featuring the Austin family, beginning with the novel Meet the Austins (1960). She received the National Humanities Medal in 2004 and was cited "for her talent as a writer on spirituality and art and for her wonderful novels for young people. Her works inspire the imagination and reflect the creative spirit of America." She has received many more honors and awards, including the ALAN Award for Outstanding Contribution to Children's Literature from the National Council for Teachers of English, and the Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Library Association.